Jeanette Fitzsimons Climate Action Grants

Continuing the legacy of Jeanette Fitzsimons

Jeanette Fitzsimons CNZM was a tireless advocate for the environment and for an economy of ‘enough’. The Jeanette Fitzsimons Climate Action Grants were established in 2020 by her friends and colleagues to honour her memory and keep alive her legacy. Jeanette was a co-founder of Our Climate Declaration, who award these grants.

The Grants

We offer grants of up to $5,000 each, for projects which are targeted at climate action and aligned with one or more of Jeanette’s and Our Climate Declaration’s goals. These grants will be awarded each year to a young person/s or organisation of young people working within their community, who wish to innovate, promote and implement the sorts of things that Jeanette believed in and are reflected in our goals, including:

1. Stop the bad stuff

  • Reduce the extraction and burning of fossil fuels 
  • Cut back on flying 
  • Cut back on intensive farming
  • End the drive for endless economic growth and consumerism to develop new ways of supporting community growth and economic wellbeing.

2. Bring on the good

  • Develop clean, renewable energy and transport
  • Farm sustainably
  • Restore our rivers and wetlands
  • Protect New Zealand’s unique species of birds and animals, plants and trees
  • Work towards a circular economy that creates wellbeing for all and respects Nature’s limits.

Examples of projects that the Grant may cover:

  • Leading an innovative community project - like Trees that Count
  • Mobilising community action to raise awareness – like School Strike 4 Climate
  • Helping communities to become more resilient by building local economic systems (e.g. time banks, koha sheds) and promoting an economy of better wealth and resource distribution.

Applications from all over Aotearoa New Zealand are welcome.

Our Criteria for awarding the 2022 Grant:

  • Preference will be given to projects that involve or prioritise young people.

  • The project should be an innovative development or idea.

  • You are welcome to include community arts and/or involve science if this fits your climate action.

  • Your project should be of interest to others to learn from or scale up

  • It needs to have a specified time frame.

The Grants will not be awarded for:

  • travel (solely)
  • study awards for individuals
  • academic research.

Recipients of the grants will be required to report on their learning and their results in a way that is appropriate to your communities so that they spread this knowledge to wider interest groups. You can do this: in writing, or a video, a podcast, other creative responses. Our Climate Declaration will also spread the word about your projects using your report.

How to apply in 2022 and dates

Click here for the application form (via Google).     

You can add a short video (no more than 2 minutes) if you wish to speak to us directly about your project.   

Applications close Friday 30 September 2022 at 5pm.  

Grants will be awarded by 1 December 2022.